Red Velvet Cupcakes (with Cream Cheese Frosting)

Red Velvet Cupcakes

“Little version of classic Red Velvet Cake! Frost with Cream Cheese frosting or White Frosting!

 Red Velvet CupcakesRed Velvet CupcakeRed Velvet Cupcakes!

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease muffin pans or line with paper baking cups
  2. In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar together with an electric mixer until light and fluffy. In a different bowl, mix the egg, buttermilk, red food colouring and vanilla. Stir in vinegar afterwards. In a separate bowl, combine  the flour, cocoa powder, salt and baking soda. Add the wet and dry ingredients alternatively to the butter-sugar mixture. Stir the batter until blended or mix with an electric mixer. Spoon completed batter into the prepared cups, dividing it evenly between 12 cupcakes.
  3. Bake in preheated oven until the tops spring back when lightly pressed, 20-25 minutes. Cool in pan, then set over a wire rack. When cool, arrange the cupcakes on a serving platter and frost with desired frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting

“This cream cheese icing goes great on pumpkin bread, carrot cake, chocolate cake, and cookies. Just four ingredients!”

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. In a medium bowl, cream the butter and cream cheese together until creamy. Mix in vanilla, then gradually stir in the confectioners’ sugar. Store in refridegerator after use.

Questions:

What were my tasks when making them in class? I creamed the butter and sugar while the other members mixed the dry ingredients. I also combined the wet ingredients and we took turns stirring everything and placing them into the baking cups. I decorated most of the cupcakes in the end as a majority of my group was absent.

What was my opinion on the recipe? I loved the recipe: it was easy to make, fun to decorate, and delicious. It is also very simple that even a young child could help out while making these cupcakes. 

How could I use this recipe at home? This recipe would definitely be great as a dessert. Red Velvet cupcakes also seem romantic so special occasions such as anniversaries, birthdays or Valentines day are perfect times to make this recipe. I could also just make them for guests or with my nieces and nephews as an activity for a tasty treat.

When would I eat it? Red Velvet Cupcakes is not a morning food. This recipe is for dessert such as after dinner or maybe even after a late lunch. It could also be seen as an unhealthy snack during the day but that would not be recommended.

Who would I serve it too? I would give anyone these cupcakes. They are so easy to eat that a toddler could enjoy them. I made some at home and shared them between my brothers, parents and any guest that came over that day such as my cousins. 

How could I alter the recipe to make it healthier? This recipe is pretty unhealthy; with the sugar and the butter. To make it healthier, I would try serving it without the frosting. I also could try to substitute the frosting with something such as Greek yogurt; to add creaminess (and protein) without having all that added sugar and saturated fat. Topping the substituted frosting with fresh fruit will not only add to the nutritional benefits, but it will improve the taste. Also, using the same amount of apple sauce rather than butter will make this a whole lot healthier while maintaining the structure of the cupcake.

How could I alter the recipe to make it cheaper? There are many things I can do to reduce the cost of these cupcakes. First of all, buy no name brands of all the ingredients. After everything is mixed and baked, the quality of the ingredients do not really make a huge difference. Instead of using butter, buy margarine which can be way cheaper. Buttermilk can be also be expensive but can be imitated with regular milk and vinegar. Pure vanilla extract is another pricey item but using the alternative, artificial vanilla extract will save dollars. Lastly, instead of a cream cheese frosting which may be tastier to some, decorate these cupcakes with a white frosting which can be more inexpensive to make or buy.

Leave a comment